IATA Diploma in Safety Management – (for Civil Aviation)


Diploma Requirements

IATA will award a Diploma to those who successfully complete the Main required course and other elective courses over a maximum of a three-year period. A total of 4 courses are therefore required to obtain a particular Diploma.
To successfully complete a course and receive a certificate, a candidate must achieve a passing mark of 70% on any assignment or exam, except for Security courses, where the passing mark is 80%. To achieve distinction, a candidate must obtain 90%. * Please remember to forward clear copies of all 4 certificates to
me (Ayanda Vilakazi) to send to IATA Geneva to issue the relevant Diploma; whereafter, I will contact delegates once the Diploma certificate has arrived for collection.

NB: Please note that we only offer the courses highlighted. We can only offer the other courses on request.

Successfully complete the required course and 3 elective courses, over a 3-year period:

Elective Courses:
 Advanced Safety Management Systems (SMS) in Civil Aviation (Classroom, 5 days)
 Aircraft Airworthiness and Air Carrier Certification (Classroom, 5 days)
 Aircraft Recovery (Classroom, 5 days)
 Emergency Response Planning for CAAs and Air Navigation Service Providers
 Fatigue Risk Management Systems (FRMS) (Classroom, 3 days)
 Human Factors in Aviation (Classroom, 5 days)
 Integrated Aviation Management System – IAMS (Classroom, 5 days)
 Management of Aviation Quality and Service (Classroom, 5 days)
 Managing Accident Prevention and Investigation (Classroom, 5 days)
 Managing the Safety Oversight Function (Classroom, 5 days)
 Medical Issues in Aviation (Classroom, 3 days)
 Operational Risk Management (ORM) for CAAs and ANSPs (Classroom, 5 days)
 Performance-based Navigation (PBN) Operational Approvals for CAAs and Airlines (Classroom, 5 days)
 Safety (SMS) and Quality Management (QMS) Processes in Civil Aviation (Classroom, 5 days)
 Safety Interviewing of Aviation Agents and Witnesses (Classroom, 5 days)
 Safety Management Systems (SMS) for Civil Aviation (Classroom, 5 days)
 State Safety Program (SSP) (Classroom, 5 days)